Header Menu
Skip to main content
Navigation Menu
Sub Navigation Menu Estate Locator
Input search character
Main Content
Public Art in Estates

For many years the Housing Authority (HA) has been engaging the community in developing works of art for its public housing properties. Today, such creative works have become an attractive feature of our estates.

By bringing art into public housing estates and blending it with the surroundings, our aim is to provide residents with the opportunity to experience and enjoy art within the comfort of their own neighbourhood. Public art also enhances the living environment and strengthens the sense of community among residents. This is exemplified by the Tung Chung ArtWalk at Yat Tung Estate.

Other artworks in our estates have involved collaboration among residents, students, local communities, art groups and our own staff. Two typical examples are the 128-metre long mural at Cheung Wang Estate and the painted stones in Sau Mau Ping South Estate.

Tung Chung Artwalk

Tung Chung Artwalk at Yat Tung Estate is the first public art garden established in a public housing estate, bringing art into the everyday life of residents while also adding attraction to the area.

A joint initiative of the Housing Authority and the Leisure and Cultural Services Department, Tung Chung Artwalk is home to a collection of 26 artworks by local artists who have drawn their inspiration from Tung Chung's natural landscape, local culture, historic relics, and the dynamics of its development from a fishing village to a vibrant new town.

The 26 artworks were selected in two phases from a total of 316 outstanding submissions from local artists. They were installed in Yat Tung Estate in 2002 and 2006 respectively. The Artwalk is open all year round. Come take a leisure stroll and enjoy these creations of local masters.

Paintings in Public Housing

Other works of art worth visiting are the mural and stone paintings displayed in public housing estates such as Cheung Wang, Yau Tong and Sau Mau Ping South. Most of them have been created with the participation of the local community.

Giant Mural at Cheung Wang Estate

The giant mural at Cheung Wang Estate, Tsing Yi was unveiled in December 2004 to commemorate the 50th anniversary of public housing development in Hong Kong.

With a length of 128 metres (m), it is the biggest ever mural produced in a public housing estate. It is the joint effort of 600 people including public housing residents, students, kaifongs in the neighbourhood, and housing staff. They have used rich colours and fascinating patterns to portray the different designs of public housing and their aspirations for green and sustainable living.

Massive Mural in Yau Tong

A 26 m by 4 m mural painting, titled "Let's Give Yau Tong a New Look", was unveiled in Yau Tong Estate in December 2006. It has emerged from a series of activities organised by the Housing Authority to promote community harmony and local participation in the public housing developments in the Yau Tong district.

The mural has blended in 25 winning designs of a competition held among students and residents in the district. The diverse subjects and styles speak of the participants' impression and expectation of the Yau Tong community.

The mural has been removed temporarily to give way for construction works. It will be reinstated, on a reduced scale, in the covered public space adjacent to Kwai Tong House of Yau Tong Estate. The site is due for completion by the end of 2012 while the mural, to be embedded in laminated glass, will measure approximately 7.2 m x 1.2 m.

Painted Stones in Sau Mau Ping South

Launched in 2010 to engage the local community in beautifying Sau Mau Ping South Estate, the Stone Painting project brought together more than 100 residents, students and artists to paint 20 indigenous boulders in the estate.

While secondary school students expressed their vision of an ideal living environment through colourful images on 12 stones, residents and young artists cooperated in painting another eight boulders along the theme of marine life and nature conservation.

The series of activities, comprising painting workshops, design competitions and on-site work, has not only stimulated the participants' interest in public art, but also boosted their sense of belonging. And of course, it has left the estate with a prettier living environment.


Back to top

Footer Site Map

頁首選項單
跳至主要內容
導覽選項單
次要導覽選項單  尋找屋?
搜尋
主要內容
公眾藝術在屋邨

多年來房屋委員會 (房委會) 夥拍社區團體為轄下公共屋邨注入藝術元素,當中不少創意作品更為屋邨增添特色。

我們在公共屋邨注入藝術元素,讓居民在邨內有機會接觸和欣賞藝術作品。公眾藝術可提升生活環境質素,並增加居民對社區的歸屬感。逸東邨的「東涌藝術徑」正好是一個實例。

屋邨居民、學生、社區人士、藝術團體和我們的員工不時合作,參與屋邨藝術品的創作,兩個典型例子是長宏邨128米長的壁畫和秀茂坪南邨的石頭彩繪。

東涌藝術徑

位於逸東邨的「東涌藝術徑」是首個設於公共屋邨的公眾藝術主題公園,既把藝術帶入居民的日常生活,同時也增加了屋邨的吸引力。

由房屋委員會和康樂文化事務署合作拓建的「東涌藝術徑」,共展出26件由本地藝術家創作的作品。他們的創作靈感沿自東涌的自然環境、文化、歷史遺跡,以及東涌由古樸漁村演變成為活力新市鎮的過程。

此公眾藝術計劃分兩個階段,從合共316件優秀本地作品中選出26件,先後在2002年和2006年安放於逸東邨。「東涌藝術徑」全年開放,歡迎公眾人士前來欣賞這些本地藝術家精心之作。

屋邨畫作

我們的公共屋邨尚有許多其他值得參觀的藝術作品,包括位於長宏和油塘邨的壁畫,以及秀茂坪南邨的石頭彩繪。這些作品大部分都是由社區參與繪製。

長宏邨巨型壁畫

青衣長宏邨的巨型壁畫於2004年12月揭幕,為香港公營房屋發展50年誌慶。

作品全長128米,是全港最大型的屋邨壁畫。它集合約600名公屋居民、學生、街坊和房屋署人員之力製作而成。巨型壁畫以繽紛的色彩和豐富的圖案展示不同時代的公屋設計,並反映作者們共建永續綠色家園的心願。

油塘巨型壁畫

一幅名為「共創油塘新氣象」,長26米、高4米的巨型壁畫,於2006年12月在油塘邨揭幕。該壁畫是房委會在油塘區舉辦一連串社區活動的其中一項成果。有關活動旨在促進社區和諧,並鼓勵地區人士參與油塘區的公屋發展。

我們之前在當區學生和居民之間舉辦壁畫設計比賽,該巨型壁畫揉合了25件得獎作品的設計,不同的主題和風格展現出設計者對油塘區的印象和未來的期望。

壁畫現因遷就其他建築工程而暫被移走,稍後將以較小規模重置在油塘邨貴塘樓旁的多用途有蓋活動平台。工程預計於2012年年底完成,壁畫將嵌在夾層玻璃內,改裝後全長約7.2米、高1.2米。

秀茂坪南邨彩繪石頭

為鼓勵社區參與美化秀茂坪南邨,我們在2010年舉辦彩繪石頭設計比賽和製作活動,吸引了百多名居民、學生和藝術家參與。他們將20塊位於邨內的石頭繪製成色彩斑斕的作品。

參賽的中學生把12塊石頭繪上色彩豐富的圖案,表達出心目中理想的生活環境。另八塊石頭則由居民和青年藝術家一起繪畫,並以海洋生物和保護自然為題。

整個活動包括彩繪工作坊、設計比賽和實地製作,不但促進參與者對公眾藝術的興趣、增強居民對屋邨的歸屬感,更成功美化屋邨居住環境。


返回頁首

頁尾網頁指南