Skip to main content
Text Size: SmallerText Size: SmallerText Size: Default SizeText Size: Default SizeText Size: LargerText Size: Larger
Close

Green Estate

box

Green Delight in Estates

Infrastructure and Promotion for Waste Reduction

To encourage active participation of residents in recycling of domestic waste, a series of environmental infrastructure building and educational programmes to promote separation of domestic wastes at source were organised in selected estates.

Separation of Domestic Wastes at Source Programme

Since October 2005, we have started the Separation of Domestic Wastes at Source Programme to reduce overall waste load in public rental housing estates by establishing user-friendly recycling systems.

Together with a series of promotion programmes, we assisted 49 GDE participating estates in setting up more convenient recycling facilities or arrangements based on the existing recycling practice and condition of the estates. Three-colour recycling bags or recycling bins for collecting waste papers, plastics and metals were installed inside the refuse room, lift lobby or staircase of each floor of the building blocks in the estates where possible. For estates without suitable space to install recycling facilities, door-to-door collection method was adopted. Residents could separate the recyclables and put them next to the garbage bags at their doorsteps. The cleansing contractors would then collect the recyclables while collecting refuse. Education activities were carried out to further enhance residents' awareness on waste separation.

To ensure the proper use of new recycling facilities, spot checks on the condition of these facilities were conducted. Reports were given to estate offices for follow-up actions in cases of misuse of facilities or any missing bags and signages.

Three-colour recycling bins in Fuk Loi Estate (left) and Sai Wan Estate (right)

Recycling bins were provided at ground floor in Pak Tin Estate

Recycling bins were provided at ground floor in Pak Tin Estate

Used Goods Exchange Square

To encourage better utilisation of resources and reduction of waste disposal, we set up Used Goods Exchange Squares in the estate as a platform to allow residents to exchange the used goods including toys, books, stationeries and household products. The Exchange Square provided an excellent opportunity for the residents to clear up their homes. With the support of EMAC members, the event was well received by residents. A total of over 40,000 items were collected and/or exchanged. Many of the residents welcomed the event to be held more frequently.

Residents participated in the Used Goods Exchange Square to exchange their un-used goods for something they required

E-waste Recycling Day

The objectives of the "Electric/Electronic Waste (E-waste) Recycling Days" are to provide proper channels for residents to dispose of e-waste and educate them the associated potential environmental hazards. Residents were encouraged to take their e-waste including old computers, electrical appliances, fluorescent lamps and rechargeable batteries to the collection counters to exchange for small gifts. Green Estate Ambassadors helped to manage the e-waste collection counters and deliver green message to the residents. Exhibition panels were also set next to the counters to illustrate the potential environmental problems and hazards of e-waste. Through this event, we collected a total of over 1,500 pieces of e-waste and reached about 11,700 residents.

E-waste Recycling Day

E-waste Recycling Day

Reduce Plastic Bag Campaign and Plastic Garbage Bag Reduction Scheme

Before the enforcement of environmental levy on plastic shopping bag, we launched the "Reduce Plastic Bag Campaign" to encourage reducing the use of plastic bags when shopping through a simple reward scheme. Coupons to redeem small gifts were given to those shoppers who did not ask for plastic bag during shopping. We also held the "Plastic Garbage Bag Reduction Scheme" to encourage the residents to reduce the use of plastic garbage bags. Residents would receive a gift if they did not take the plastic garbage bags from the estate management offices. It is estimated about 33,000 residents took part in the scheme.

A day trip to Noah's Ark Theme Park

Residents received small gifts in the Reduce Plastic Bag Campaign

跳至內容的開始
字型大小:較小字型大小:較小字型大小:原設定字型大小:原設定字型大小:較大字型大小:較大
關閉

綠屋邨

格子圖案

綠樂無窮在屋邨園

減廢的基礎設施及推廣活動

為鼓勵居民加入回收家居廢物的行列,我們在多個指定屋邨設立一系列環境基礎設施和推廣教育計劃,宣傳家居廢物源頭分類。

家居廢物源頭分類計劃

我們在2005年10月開展「家居廢物源頭分類計劃」,藉着簡便易用的回收系統,減少公共屋邨的整體廢物量。

與此同時,我們推行了一連串推廣計劃,協助49個參與「綠樂無窮在屋邨」計劃的屋邨,根據本身現有的回收措施及實際情況,設置更方便的回收設施或安排。環境許可下,屋邨大廈每個樓層的垃圾房、電梯大堂或樓梯會擺放三色回收袋或回收箱,分類回收廢紙、塑膠及金屬廢物。假如屋邨缺乏適合地點安裝回收設施,則會逐戶回收廢物。居民可先將可回收的廢物分類,與垃圾袋一同放在家門口,清潔承辦商收集垃圾時便會一併回收。我們先後安排了多項教育活動,進一步提高居民的廢物分類意識。

為確保居民正確使用新的回收設施,我們會巡查設施的狀況,然後匯報屋邨辦事處。一旦發現濫用設施或垃圾袋及指示牌丟失,便會妥善跟進。

福來邨(左)及西環邨(右)的三色回收箱

白田邨大廈地下的回收箱

白田邨大廈地下的回收箱

「二手交易廣場」

為鼓勵公屋居民善用資源及減少棄置廢物,我們在各屋邨設立「二手交易廣場」,方便居民交換二手物品,例如玩具、舊書、文具及家庭用品等。藉着交易廣場,居民可趁機進行大掃除。在屋邨管理諮詢委員會委員全力支援下,活動大受居民歡迎,回收及/或交換的物品超過40,000件。很多居民均表示希望能經常舉辦「二手交易廣場」。

居民在「二手交易廣場」以舊物交換他們需要的物品

電子廢物回收日

「電子廢物回收日」旨在提供妥善途徑,方便公屋居民處置電子廢物,同時教育他們這些產品可能造成的環境危害。我們鼓勵居民將舊電腦、電器、光管及充電電池等電子廢物送到回收櫃檯交換小禮品。這些櫃檯由綠色屋邨大使管理,並向居民宣傳環保訊息。回收櫃檯旁亦設有展板,講述與電子廢物相關的潛在環境問題和危害。是次活動共回收逾1,500件電子廢物,約有11,700位居民參與。

電子廢物回收日

電子廢物回收日

減用膠袋運動及減用垃圾膠袋計劃

為使公屋居民在購物膠袋環境徵費正式實施前作好準備,我們推行「減用膠袋運動」,藉着簡單的獎勵計劃提供誘因,鼓勵住戶購物時減少使用膠袋,消費者購物時不要膠袋可獲贈券換領小禮品。我們亦舉辦「減用垃圾膠袋計劃」鼓勵居民減少使用垃圾膠袋,沒有向管理處領取垃圾膠袋的住戶可獲贈小禮品。本計劃估計約有33,000名居民參與。

A day trip to Noah's Ark Theme Park

「減用膠袋運動」參加者換領小禮品