• Carbon Emission Estimation

    To seek carbon emission reduction opportunities for housing developments at the planning and design stages, a life cycle Carbon Emission Estimation (CEE) method has been developed to estimate the carbon dioxide emission from buildings throughout their life cycle. This methodology applies a Life Cycle Assessment framework to estimate the Greenhouse Gas emissions in terms of carbon dioxide equivalent (CO2-e) of a public housing block from cradle to grave. This also enables the establishment of the benchmarks of emission level for a housing block and a housing estate throughout the project life cycle stages to facilitate comparison and to set achievable goals for improvements. The estimated result is presented in terms of CO2-e emissions per flat and per square metre of gross floor area (GFA) and construction floor area (CFA) of the building. In principle, the CEE covers the following six major aspects:

    Construction Stage

    1. Materials Consumed during Construction

    2. Materials for Structure

    Occupation Stage

    3. Electricity Consumption by Communal Building Services

    4. Carbon Reduction by Renewable Energy Installations

    5. Carbon Absorption by Trees

    Demolition Stage

    6. Demolition

    With the benchmarks established, the carbon emission level of a new housing block can be compared to determine its positioning in terms of environmental impact. The benchmark can also help improve public communication about carbon emissions and, more importantly, serve as a minimum standard to facilitate carbon mitigation through different design alternatives. Since February 2011, the estimation of carbon emissions for the above six aspects during the design stage have been adopted in all our new development projects with domestic blocks design.

    gds-p1.jpg

    Kai Tak Site 1A project design with the application of Carbon Emission Estimation method to benchmark the carbon emission levels throughout the project life cycle

  • Life Cycle Assessment and Life Cycle Costing Study of Building Materials

    The selection of building materials has significant impact both in environmental and monetary terms. If better alternatives are used, huge potential benefits can be realised over the life span of a building. Conscious of our environmental responsibility to the community and the need for cost effectiveness, we have pioneered evaluation methodologies for appraising building materials and products on a life cycle basis for better sustainable solutions.

    The main objective of the study is to appraise building materials commonly used in our New Harmony 1 (NH1) blocks and to explore how their sustainability can be enhanced.

    Combining LCA Indices with LCC Price Mechanisms as a Decision Making Tool

    Combining LCA Indices with LCC Price Mechanisms as a Decision Making Tool

    Following are some key findings of the study:

    • The ratio of capital cost to maintenance cost is 1:4 while the ratio of initial impact to operational environmental impact is about 1:10. This means more emphasis should be placed on the maintenance regime.
    • Initial environmental impact generated from architectural items is low, while the recurring impact generated from regular maintenance is comparatively high.
    • It has been validated that the NH1 domestic block has reached the optimum level in terms of positive environmental impact and life cycle cost effectiveness.

    Applications:

    • A number of elements have been evaluated with the aim to enhance the design standard.
    • The developed computer model and data generated can be used for comparing the cost and environmental performance of some new/alternative materials.
    • The whole study report has been uploaded onto HA website for access by general public.
  • Micro-climate Studies

    To create quality living environment and improve the environmental performance of our new building projects, micro-climate studies and Air Ventilation Assessments are conducted during the planning and design stages. With the use of computerised simulation models, we can optimise our design to enhance wind environment of the site, natural ventilation and daylight for the domestic flats, thermal comfort of external areas and energy efficiency. Since 2004 we have been applying the studies in all public housing projects. Encouraging feedback from residents on environmental performance was collected in resident survey conducted in recently completed projects. In 2018/19, we continued to carry out micro-climate studies for 31 on-going projects, in addition to Air Ventilation Assessment for 19 on-going projects.

    Study of vertical daylight factor and outdoor sunshading pattern

    Study of vertical daylight factor and outdoor sunshading pattern

    Study of vertical daylight factor and outdoor sunshading pattern

    Study of vertical daylight factor and outdoor sunshading pattern

    Study of vertical daylight factor and outdoor sunshading pattern

    Wind environment study for different seasons

    Wind environment study for different seasons

    Wind environment study for different seasons

    Wind environment study for different seasons

    Wind environment study for different seasons

  • Use of Green and Sustainable Materials and Components

    • Usage of Green Materials and Components

      We completed the development of an accelerated test for resistance to fungal and algae growth for multi-layer acrylic paint which was applicable in the Hong Kong environment. A new specification including relevant requirements was published and implemented in the third quarter of 2011. Our project team had closely examined the application of synthetic macro-fibre reinforcement in ongrade slabs as a replacement to steel reinforcement. The application was found to be technically feasible. We have incorporated this technology in the design of various projects, including Shui Chuen O Estate and On Tat Estate.

      We endeavoured using recyclable materials to reduce the consumption of cement (a source of carbon emission) in projects. For instance, the ground granulated blastfurnace slag (GGBS) has been used as a partial replacement of cement in precast façades in all building projects and it has been further extended to precast staircase since January 2016. There will be a saving of about 300 tonnes of cement for each 41-storey domestic block when GGBS is applied to the precast façades and staircase. Wider use of GGBS concrete in semi-precast slabs are being explored.

      Green Materials and Components

      Green Materials and Components

    • Sustainable Timber

      We have stopped using tropical hardwood in temporary construction works since mid-2003. We have also promulgated specification requiring contractors to use timber from sustainable source for temporary works including formwork, protective canopy, catch fan, walkway, toe board, timber mock-up, signboards etc. during construction. We continue to apply specifications for the use of timber from certified sustainable source for manufacturing of doors. In August 2014, we implemented a new specification allowing the use of finger and composite joints for manufacturing door-sets, which help reduce the use of raw materials in the manufacturing process.

      Sustainable timber

      Sustainable timber

  • Greening in Housing Estates

    • Estate Ecology

      We protect the ecology nearby our housing estate carefully by applying balanced ecological planning and design principles in all suitable projects. We set out green design guidelines for public housing developments. The overall greening coverage target is to have at least 20% greening ratio in new estates and 30% for sites over two hectares. As a rule of thumb, the tree planting ratio is not less than one tree per 15 flats. In addition, we continued to closely monitor the cost effectiveness of the greening design and provisions in our new estates. We co-ordinate with the Development Bureau on tree preservation and management works.

    • Greening for Newly Formed and Existing Slopes

      To create aesthetic values for residents, we proactively provide green treatment to newly formed slopes and existing slopes by hydroseeding, planting or other appropriate methods.

      Hydroseeding at slopes in So Uk Estate Phase 2

      Hydroseeding at slopes in So Uk Estate Phase 2

      Hydroseeding at slope in Shui Chuen O Estate

      Hydroseeding at slope in Shui Chuen O Estate

    • Soft Landscaping

      Starting from April 2000, our policy has been to plant at least one tree for every 15 flats in a newly built estate.

      To enhance greening in estates, we have established the overall target of 30% green coverage for all new housing projects, with a minimum of at least 20%. We are implementing initiatives of roof greening, vertical greening and grass-paving system for some vehicular areas, in addition to traditional greening at grade and slopes.

      Soft landscaping in open area

      Soft landscaping in open area

      Soft landscaping under covered walkway

      Soft landscaping under covered walkway

      We completed a study on the environmental benefits of green roof at two selected residential blocks at Shin Ming Estate in October 2013. Some of the recommendations from the study have been incorporated into the Green Design Guide in 2015/16.

  • Green Living Environment

    • Promoting Electric Vehicles

      To support Government's policy to promote the wider use of electric vehicles (EVs) for environmental protection, we have provided EV charging facilities in the new carparks and at some parking spaces in the existing carparks on need basis. In the year of 2019, we already have some 1000 parking spaces equipped with EV charging facilities. A maximum of two hours free parking were offered for EVs during charging with free electricity as an incentive.

      EV Charging Station

      EV Charging Station

    • Green Living Environment

      Under the programme "Action Seedling", participants from residents, schools and community organisations were required to nurse seedlings plants given by the Housing Authority and its building contractors until they are fit for transplanting into the planters of new public housing estates. The programme aims to unify the inputs from our contractors, tenants and general community in bringing new public housing estates to a greener living environment.

      Residents participated in “Action Seedling”

      Residents participated in "Action Seedling"

      School Students joined the planting activity in the estate

      School Students joined the planting activity in the estate

• 碳排放估算

    房委会制订了一套「碳排放估算」(CEE)方法,以计算楼宇在整个生命周期的二氧化碳排放量,藉此在楼宇发展规划和设计阶段抓紧机会,致力减低碳排放。此方法采用了生命周期评估(LCA)的框架,以二氧化碳当量(CO2-e)为单位,估计一座公共楼宇从建造到拆卸的温室气体排放量。这亦有助建立一座公共楼宇及一个屋邨在生命周期内碳排放量的基准,以便作比较及制订改善目标,而估算的结果是以每个单位和每平方米建筑面积的二氧化碳当量为单位。「碳排放估算」主要包括以下六个范畴:

    施工阶段

    1. 施工期间所消耗的材料

    2. 楼宇结构材料

    住用阶段

    3. 大厦公用屋宇装备的耗电量

    4. 使用可再生能源系统发电所减少的碳排放量

    5. 树木吸收的碳排放量

    拆卸阶段

    6. 拆卸工程

    建立排放基准之后,可比较新建楼宇的碳排放水平,以确定其对环境的影响。同时,亦有助和公众交流碳排放的资讯。更重要的是该基准可用作量度不同设计方案在减低碳排放量方面的最基本的标准。由2011年2月起,所有新发展项目的住宅大厦必须于设计阶段,就上述六个范围进行碳排放估算工作。

    gds-p1.jpg

    启德第一甲区项目的设计采用「碳排放量估算」方法,在整个项目周期进行碳排放量评比

  • 公共房屋楼宇生命周期 – 物料环保评估及成本计算研究

    甄选建筑材料对环保和金钱两方面均有重大影响。选用较佳的材料,在楼宇的整个生命中,可取得莫大益处。房委会为履行对社会的环保责任及基于成本效益上的需要,率先研究及制定本地化的评估方法,以生命周期为基础来评核建筑材料及产品,从而找出可优化持续发展的方法。

    此研究的主要目的,是对我们经常采用的新和谐一型住宅大厦所用物料进行验证,并就可否提升其可持续性进行探讨。

    结合生命周期环保评估指数和生命周期成本计算价格机制的决策工具

    结合生命周期环保评估指数和生命周期成本计算价格机制的决策工具

    主要研究结果:

    • 资本成本与保养成本的比例为1:4,初期的环境影响与营运期的环境影响的比例约为1:10。相比之下,我们的保养制度更形重要;
    • 建筑项目的初期环境影响较低,但其后定期保养所产生的经常性影响则较高;以及
    • 研究同时证实,新和谐一型住宅大厦,在正面的环境影响及生命周期成本效益方面,都几乎已达到最佳的水平。

    应用:

    • 已评估多种物料,以进一步改善大厦的设计;
    • 可利用开发所得的电脑模型及其提供的数据,把新物料或代用物料进行成本及环保两方面的比较;以及
    • 把研究报告登上房委会网站,让公众浏览。
  • 「微气候」研究

    为提高新建屋项目的环保成效,房委会在公营房屋计划的规划和设计阶段进行「微气候」研究及空气流动评估。利用先进的电脑模拟软件,我们可以在设计上改善工程项目中的行人区风环境、住宅单位的天然通风和采光度、室外热舒适度和能源使用情况,有助提升楼宇的环保效益,为居民创造更舒适的居住环境。自2004年所有公屋工程项目已采用「微气候」研究。从最近落成项目的住户意见调查显示,居民普遍满意屋邨的环保表现。于2018/19年度,我们继续在31宗发展项目进行微气候研究,另有19宗仍在建筑项目进行了空气流通状况评估。

    研究垂直日光系数及分析室外遮阳模式

    研究垂直日光系数及分析室外遮阳模式

    研究垂直日光系数及分析室外遮阳模式

    研究垂直日光系数及分析室外遮阳模式

    研究垂直日光系数及分析室外遮阳模式

    模拟不同季节的风向研究

    模拟不同季节的风向研究

    模拟不同季节的风向研究

    模拟不同季节的风向研究

    模拟不同季节的风向研究

  • 使用环保及可持续建材和组件

    • 使用环保建材和组件

      我们成功开发了一项更快并能针对香港的环境条件测试积层丙烯酸多层喷漆防霉抗藻效能的测试方法,并已于2011年第三季公布和实行油漆的新规格。

      我们的项目团队亦深入研究,在地面楼板中采用合成粗纤维强化混凝土以取代钢筋。研究发现此做法在技术上可行。我们已在多宗项目的设计应用这项技术,包括水泉澳邨及安达邨。

      我们致力使用可回收的材料以减少建筑项目的水泥使用量(碳排放的一个来源)。例如,我们已在所有建设项目使用矿渣微粉取代预制外墙中的部分水泥。由2016年1月起,此要求已推广至预制楼梯。预计每幢41层高的住宅大厦可节省约300公吨水泥。我们现正研究能否更广泛使用矿渣微粉制造半预制混凝土楼板。

      环保材料和组件

      环保材料和组件

    • 可持续发展的木材供应

      房委会自2003年中已经开始禁止在建筑期间的临时工程采用热带硬木。同时,我们亦已制定建筑规格,要求承建商在建筑期间的临时工程,包括模板、保护檐篷、斜棚、桥板、踢脚板、木建样板及工程布告板等,须采用来自可持续发展源头的木材。我们继续指定使用经认证来源的可持续木材制造木门。2014年8月,我们在新规格中,允许制造木门使用指接及拼合连接,节省制造过程中使用的原料。

      可持续发展的木材

      可持续发展的木材

  • 屋邨绿化

    • 屋邨生态

      房委会贯彻平衡的生态规划及设计原则,保护发展项目附近的生态。房委会于公营房屋设计中加入绿化设计指引,规定新屋邨整体绿化覆盖率需占总面积不少于20%,而两公顷以上的大型用地则不少于30%。我们以每15户种植最少一棵树的植树率为原则进行绿化。此外,我们继续密切监察新屋邨的绿化设计的成本效益,并配合发展局进行树木保育及管理的工作。

    • 绿化新铺建及现有斜坡

      为了美化居住环境,我们通过喷草、种植或其他合适方法,积极为新建成及现有的斜坡进行绿化工程。

      位于苏屋邨二期的斜坡喷草绿化

      位于苏屋邨二期的斜坡喷草绿化

      位于水泉澳邨的斜坡喷草绿化

      位于水泉澳邨的斜坡喷草绿化

    • 绿化环境

      由2000年4月起,所有新建成之屋邨需以每15个单位至少种植一棵树为标准。

      为加强屋邨的绿化,我们所有新屋邨均以30%的整体绿化为目标,至少亦达到20%。除了传统的地面及斜坡绿化,还包括天台绿化、垂直绿化,以及于部份行车区铺设草铺路板。

      屋邨露天地方的绿化工作

      屋邨露天地方的绿化工作

      屋邨有盖行人路下的绿化工作

      屋邨有盖行人路下的绿化工作

      于2013年10月,我们完成研究善明邨两座住宅大厦设置绿化天台带来的环境裨益。研究的部分建议已经纳入2015/16年度的《绿化设计指南》。

  • 绿色生活环境

    • 提倡电动车

      为了支持政府提倡广泛使用电动车的政策,房委会为新建屋邨的停车场及现有停车场的部分泊车位提供电动车充电设施。于2019年,我们已为约1,000个泊车位安装电动车充电设施。此外,为了促进使用电动车,我们更为电动车提供最多2小时的免费泊车优惠。

      电动车充电站

      电动车充电站

    • 绿色的生活环境

      在「育苗行动」计划中,参与行动的居民、学校和社区组织各自负责栽育由房委会及承建商供应的树苗,待它们茁壮成长后移植到新屋邨的花圃。计划旨在凝聚承建商、住户和普罗大众的力量,为新建公共屋邨缔造更翠绿的居住环境。

      居民参与「育苗行动」

      居民参与「育苗行动」

      区内学生参与树苗种植活动

      区内学生参与树苗种植活动