There are three Old and Valuable Trees (OVTs) in Housing Authority housing estates. These OVTs are located at:

Sau Mau Ping Estate - Silk tree (Albizia julibrissin)

Sau Mau Ping Estate - Albizia julibrissin
Estate Name Sau Mau Ping Estate
Common Name Silk-tree (合歡)
Scientific Name Albizia julibrissin
Tree Location Open space outside Sau Wo House and Sau Yat House
Tree Height (m) 20
Trunk Diameter (cm) 140

Main Features

This is the largest Albizia julibrissin in our public housing estates at present. It is 20 metre tall and over one metre in trunk diameter, with a dense canopy that spreads out beautifully. The tree carries distinctive features. It grows at the centre of a circular landscaped area in the redeveloped Sau Mau Ping Estate, which is a popular leisure area for local residents. Albizia julibrissin is a deciduous tree of the Mimosaceae family with bipinnate leaves, each having 4 to 20 pairs of pinnae, and 10 to 30 pairs of leaflets in a pinna. The tree blooms in summer. Stamens are pink and seeds are held in pods. This tree has been included under Register of Old and Valuable Trees (Registration Number: HD KT/1).

Tai Hing Estate - India-rubber Tree (Ficus elastica)

Tai Hing Estate - Ficus elastica
Estate Name Tai Hing Estate
Common Name India-rubber Tree (印度榕)
Scientific Name Ficus elastica
Tree Location Inside Bauhinia Garden near Hing Cheong House
Tree Height (m) 12
Trunk Diameter (cm) 270

Main Features

This tree, estimated to be more than 35 years old, is probably of the same age as Tai Hing Estate. Ficus elastica is an evergreen tree of the Moraceae family and characterised by fast growth rate and luxuriant foliage. Aerial roots of F. elastica that grow downward from horizontal branches can, upon reaching the ground, become woody and eventually develop into prop roots, providing increased support and anchorage to the tree. As with many species of Ficus, India-rubber Tree can form a wide canopy that gives excellent shade from the sun. This tree has been included under Register of Old and Valuable Trees (Registration Number: HD TM/1).

Choi Hung Estate - Mountain Fig (Ficus altissima)

Sau Mau Ping Estate - Albizia julibrissin
Estate Name Choi Hung Estate
Common Name Mountain Fig (高山榕)
Scientific Name Ficus altissima
Tree Location Near Kam Wan House
Tree Height (m) 18
Trunk Diameter (cm) 300

Main Features

Ficus altissima is an evergreen tree of the Moraceae family. It is a large tall tree with spreading crown and descending aerial roots. It provides excellent shade. Ficus altissima is usually planted in gardens but rarely found in housing estates in the past. Choi Hung Estate, however, has the largest Ficus altissima in the area. This tree is estimated to be more than 35 years old. This tree has been included under the Register of Old and Valuable Trees (Registration Number: HD WTS/1).

房委会辖下屋邨共有三棵古树名木,这三棵古树名木分别位于:

秀茂坪邨 - 合欢

秀茂坪邨 - 合欢
屋邨名称 秀茂坪邨
中文名 合欢
学名 Albizia julibrissin
树木位置 秀和楼及秀逸楼对出空地
树高(米) 20
树干直径(厘米) 140

主要特色

这是公共屋邨内现存的最大一棵合欢树。它的树干直径超过一米,树高20米,且树冠茂密,形态十分优美。在重建秀茂坪邨时,利用此树的独有景色,建造以它为中心的圆形绿化地带,成为广受本区居民欢迎的休憩用地。合欢树为含羞草科落叶树,叶为二回羽状复叶,每片叶由4至20对羽片组成,每羽片有小叶10至30对。花期在夏天,雄蕊粉红色,果实为荚果。此树现已编入古树名木册中 (古树名木登记编号:HD KT/1)。

大兴邨 - 印度榕(印度橡树)

大兴邨 - 印度榕(印度橡树)
屋邨名称 大兴邨
中文名 印度榕(印度橡树)
学名 Ficus elastica
树木位置 兴昌楼旁洋紫荆花园内
树高(米) 12
树干直径(厘米) 270

主要特色

此树相信与大兴邨同龄,估计树龄约逾35年。印度榕(印度橡树)为桑科常绿乔木,特点是生长速度快,枝叶茂盛。当树枝向下生长的气根接触地面后,可发展成支柱根,为树木提供支撑。与许多其他榕树一样,印度橡树可以长成宽阔的树冠,提供良好的遮荫效果。此树现已编入古树名木册中 (古树名木登记编号:HD TM/1)。

彩虹邨 - 高山榕

彩虹邨 - 高山榕
屋邨名称 彩虹邨
中文名 高山榕
学名 Ficus altissima
树木位置 近锦云楼
树高(米) 18
树干直径(厘米) 300

主要特色

高山榕是桑科常绿乔木,树树身高大,树冠张开具气根,形成良好的树下遮荫环境,为庭园常用树之一。但过往屋邨中较少种植高山榕,唯彩虹邨则例外,此树是该邨同种树中最大。估计此树树龄约逾35年。此树现已编入古树名木册中 (登记编号:HD WTS/1)。