Header Menu
Skip to main content
Navigation Menu
Sub Navigation Menu Estate Locator
Input search character
Main Content
Building Information Modelling and Geographic Information System

Introduction

Building Information Modelling is the process of generating three-dimensional, digital representation of building data throughout its life cycle.  BIM is an innovative technology for bridging communications between the architecture, engineering and construction industries.

The Housing Authority (HA) has started piloting BIM since 2006.  We have use BIM for design visualisation and progressively moved forward to other stages to benefit the chain of stakeholders along the building life cycle, from design to documentation, construction and facility management.  Through the use of BIM, we have improved our building quality by optimizing our planning and designs, improving coordination, and reducing construction waste and enhancing workers’ safety.  BIM has now become one of our most important tools and platforms in the development of public housing projects.

3-Tier Management Structure

In 2007, the HA started to adopt the following 3-tier management structure to support BIM/GIS implementation in the development of its public housing projects:

Tier 1 – BIM/GIS Project Steering Committee (BIM/GIS PSC)

The BIM/GIS PSC plans strategically and overviews the implementation of BIM/GIS. It plays an important role at the management level to give direction and support to all staff.

Tier 2 – BIM/GIS Working Group (BIM/GIS WG)

The BIM/GIS WG underpins the BIM/GIS PSC and is represented by all professional disciplines. It works on implementation and technical details.

Tier 3 – BIM Service Team (BIMST)/GIS Management Team (GMT)

The BIMST/GMT provides central support to the project teams on BIM/GIS implementation. The BIMST/GMT not only builds up in-house BIM/GIS expertise but also accelerates skill development within the department.

Application

Our professional and technical staff have accrued essential experience and mastered crucial techniques in BIM/GIS implementation. We see encouraging results emanating from recent breakthroughs in BIM application in the structural engineering field for demolition, excavation, volumetric precast works and foundation design in addition to the strategic introduction of BIM as a standard design tool for housing projects.

1.       Planning Stage

We made a breakthrough in 2014 integrating the use of BIM and GIS for site planning. We discovered a way to convert the BIM models of our new housing estates into GIS data and integrate them with 3D terrain and existing spatial data of buildings of Hong Kong. By doing this, we were able to perform site appraisals and visual impact assessments in the 3D GIS environment, including ridgeline analysis, vantage point analysis and shadow analysis. The new approach has allowed us to minimise the visual impact of our development to the environment with great success in recent years.  

Photo: GIS Analysis

GIS Analysis

2.        Scheme Design Stage

Back in 2008, at an early stage after we started using BIM, one of our very first tasks was to use BIM to create standard modular flats.  The objective was to make available a set of standard designs so as to improve on efficiency.  Standardisation has become a feature of public housing development since it facilitates prefabrication and brings several advantages, including shortening of coordination time, reduction of on-site construction waste, manpower and construction costs.

Photo: Standardized Modular Flat

Standardized Modular Flat

We also apply BIM to foundation design. Our Structural Engineers have developed the BIM-enabled Semi-Automated Foundation Design system (BIM-SAFD) which allows 3D visualisation of complex underground geological conditions and rock head profile to further assist the identification of problematic areas against the proposed foundation design. Our Structural Engineers also apply SAFD in the 2D production of large numbers of statutory submission drawings such as Foundation Plans, Sections, Elevations and Piling Schedules through the use of 3D BIM models. SAFD is equipped with intelligent data and parameters, which could interact dynamically with any input of change in the underground geological conditions and foundation design in order to facilitate quantity measurement.

Photo: Semi-Automated Foundation Design

Semi-Automated Foundation Design (SAFD)

Another area we find BIM to be very useful at Scheme Design stage is for Value Management or Design Optimisation.  For example, we use BIM to compare the construction time, cost and efficiency ratio between two design options; different piling options to see which one is less costly; and different superstructure options to determine which would be more cost effective and faster to construct.  In sum, BIM is able to give us the added dimension to accurately account for quantity, cost and time, hence securing maximum output from limited resources.

Photo: Hin Tin

Hin Tin Street - Video (MP4)

Photo: Lighting 1

Photo: Lighting 2

Lighting (GIF) 

3.        Detail Design Stage

At the detail design stage, we use BIM model together with a lighting simulation software to achieve optimum lighting design for both exterior and interior areas.

4.       Statutory Submission Stage

For statutory submission, we have also pushed through in using BIM for drawings production in a pilot project. 2D submission drawings including General Building Plans and Foundation Plans have been derived from the 3D model.  Good progress has been achieved in the pilot project so far.

 About 26% of the total electricity consumption in Hong Kong takes place in residential buildings. Enhancing the energy performance of these buildings is an important part of the government’s strategy in achieving a more environmentally friendly and sustainable built environment.  There is a set of design and construction requirements relating to the Residential Thermal Transfer Value (RTTV) of building envelopes based on light transmittance and external reflectance of the glazed portions.  BIM is used in the calculation of RTTV as part of the General Building Plans submission.  Building parameters including the areas of windows, external walls and roofs, and their corresponding orientations are extracted from the BIM model for the calculation.

5.      Tender Stage

We have also undertaken a research in 2012 to use BIM to generate detail quantities, and use it for cost management and cash flow simulation. This approach was dubbed the QSBIM.  It allows our Quantity Surveyors (QS) to effectively transfer, extract and verify the cost related information from designers’ BIM elements to a corporate Bills of Quantities database for estimation, cost comparison, cash flow analysis, payment and variation estimation.

6.      Construction Stage

With the use of BIM, we plan sequence of the precast concrete construction well beforehand. The contractor and site supervisory staff make use of BIM to explain the construction sequence and working procedures to the workers before actual construction, thus reducing the learning period and enhancing site safety.

Photo: Kai Tak 1B

Kai Tak 1B - Video (MP4)

Photo: Shatin Area 52

Shatin Area - Video (MP4)

Resources

Standards, guidelines and component families are essential for successful BIM implementation. They are required for effective model building, electronic file management and communication between BIM users. To facilitate the process, we have prepared our in-house BIM standards, user guide, library component design guide and references. Please click on the links below to view these documents.


Back to top

Footer Site Map

頁首選項單
跳至主要內容
導覽選項單
次要導覽選項單  尋找屋?
搜尋
主要內容
建築信息模擬及地理信息系統

引言

建築信息模擬為數碼模擬系統,以數碼模擬程序,演示建築生命周期內各項數據的立體模型。這項創新科技有助促進建築師、工程師和建造業界人士之間的溝通。

房屋委員會(下稱「房委會」)自2006年起,已率先試用建築信息模擬。我們利用建築信息模擬令設計視像化,並逐步推展至其他階段,使整個建築生命周期,由設計到建立文件、建築以至設施管理的連串業務相關者受惠。藉着建築信息模擬的應用,我們優化規劃、設計和協調,並減少建築廢料,改善工人的安全水平,從而提升建築質量。目前,建築信息模擬已成為我們發展公營房屋項目一個不可缺少的工具及平台。

三級管理架構

為促進在發展公營房屋項目中應用建築信息模擬及地理信息系統,房委會於2007年開始採用以下的三級管理架構:

第一級 — 建築信息模擬/地理信息系統項目督導小組委員會

負責適當地規劃和監察建築信息模擬/地理信息系統的推行情況。作為管理層的一環,建築信息模擬/地理信息系統項目督導小組委員會在向各級人員作出指示和支援方面擔當一個重要角色。

第二級 — 建築信息模擬/地理信息系統工作小組

負責支援建築信息模擬/地理信息系統計劃督導小組委員會,其成員來自各相關專業的代表。這個工作小組的職責是擬訂執行及技術細節。

第三層 — 建築信息模擬服務小隊/地理信息系統管理小隊

負責就建築信息模擬/地理信息系統的應用事宜向各工程小組提供中央支援。這兩個小隊不僅在內部建立相關的專業團隊,並協助部門加快在這方面的技術發展。

應用

我們的專業及技術同事在應用建築信息模擬/地理信息系統上已積累必要的經驗及掌握關鍵技巧。除策略性引進建築信息模擬作為房屋發展項目的標準設計工具以外,我們最近在結構工程範疇(包括樓宇拆卸、挖掘工程、立體預製組件工程和地基工程設計)應用建築信息模擬方面亦取得了突破,成績令人鼓舞。

1.        規劃階段

2014年,我們在地盤規劃工作上取得突破,成功將建築信息模擬結合地理信息系統一同使用。我們鑽研了一套方法,把新屋邨的建築信息模型轉換成地理信息系統數碼數據,然後加入香港地形和現有建築物的三維模型。這樣,我們便可在以三維模擬顯示的地理信息系統環境下進行土地評審和視覺影響評估,包括山脊線分析、瞭望點分析和陰影分析。藉着這個新方式,我們近年成功把房委會發展項目對四周環境的景觀影響減至最低。

相片:地理信息系統分析

地理信息系統分析

2.        計劃設計階段

我們於2008年開始採用建築信息模擬初期,最先要以這項技術完成的其中一項工作是設計標準構件式單位。當時的工作目標是製作一套標準設計,藉以提升工作效率。目前,標準化已成為公營房屋發展項目的特色,除了有助使用預製組件技術外,其他的優點還包括可縮短協調時間、減少地盤產生的建築廢物、減省人手和降低建築成本。

相片:標準構件式單位

標準構件式單位

我們也把建築信息模擬應用到地基工程設計上。我們的結構工程師團隊研發了一套名為半自動地基工程設計系統。這個系統除了能夠以三維視像顯示地底地質狀況和地底石層等高,方便我們比對擬議地基工程設計。我們的結構工程師還利用三維模型直接製作大量的二維地基工程圖則、截面圖、立視圖和樁柱明細表等法例規定遞交的平面圖則資料。半自動地基工程設計系統可按輸入的地質狀況和地基工程設計變動而快速自行修正智能數據和參數的功能,進行工料測量。

相片:半自動地基工程設計系統

半自動地基工程設計系統

在計劃設計階段,建築信息模擬對於價值管理或優化設計亦非常有用。例如,我們利用建築信息模擬比較兩個設計方案的建造時間、成本和效益比率;比較不同打樁工程方案,以找出成本較低者;比較不同上層結構工程方案,以決定在成本效益和完工時間方面較優的方案。總括而言,建築信息模擬能提供多一項工具,讓我們更準確計算工料、成本和時間,令有限資源發揮最大效益。

相片:顯田街

顯田街-錄像影片 (MP4)

相片:照明 1

相片:照明 2

照明(圖形互換檔案格式)

3.        詳細設計階段

在詳細設計階段,我們將建築信息模型結合照明模擬軟件使用,為室外和室內的照明設計得出最合適的方案。

4.       遞交法定文件階段

在遞交法定文件方面,我們亦推出試行計劃,以建築信息模擬製作圖則。我們利用三維模型製作一般建築圖則和地基工程圖則等平面圖則。試行計劃推行至今進展良好。

住宅樓宇耗用的電力佔全港整體耗電量的26%,因此,改善住宅樓宇的能源表現,在政府建設更環保和可持續建築環境的策略中,佔一個十分重要的位置。我們目前已有一套有關建築物玻璃部分的光透率和外部反射率的設計和建築規定,用以規管建築幕牆的住宅熱傳送值。我們遞交的一般建築圖則,便是利用建築信息模擬計算當中的住宅熱傳送值。此外,我們亦能從建築信息模型摘取窗戶、外牆和天台等部分的建築參數及方向資料,以方便計算熱傳送值。

5.       招標階段

我們亦曾於2012年研究以建築信息模擬計算詳細工料,並模擬成本管理和現金流量,這套方法名為工料測量建築信息模擬。這項模擬技術方便工料測量師在設計師的建築信息模擬元件中有效地傳送、摘取和核實與成本有關的資料,並將數據載入機構建築工料清單數據庫,以方便進行估算、成本比較、現金流量分析,以及支付款項和變動估算。

6.       建築階段

借助建築信息模擬技術,我們能預早計劃預製混凝土建築工程的工序。在實際施工前,承建商和地盤監督人員利用建築信息模擬向工人講解施工程序和工作步驟,不單縮短學習時間,而且能提升地盤的安全水平。

相片:啟德1B

啟德1B-錄像影片 (MP4)

相片:沙田第52區

沙田第52區-錄像影片(MP4)

資源

制訂標準、擬備指引和設立組件資料庫,有助建立模型、管理電子檔案,以及促進系統使用者之間的溝通,是成功推行建築信息模擬的重要因素。為此,我們已制訂建築信息模擬的內部標準,並擬備有關的使用指南、組件庫設計指南和參考資料。請按入以下連結,閱覽這些文件(只有英文版本)。


返回頁首

頁尾網頁指南