Hong Kong Housing Authority and Housing Department

Chinese New Year Citrus Plants Replanting Scheme

Chinese New Year Citrus Plants Replanting Scheme
Chinese New Year Citrus Plants Replanting Scheme

People like to decorate their homes with festive citrus plants during the Chinese New Year.  For one thing, tangerines (pronounced like “gold” plus “luck” in Cantonese) are meant to bring wealth and good fortune.  Many of this potted citrus, however, are thrown away not long after.  To promote reduction of domestic waste among public rental housing (PRH) tenants, the Hong Kong Housing Authority (HA) launched a pilot scheme in 2013 to collect and replant citrus plants discarded after the festive season.  The pilot scheme was well received with remarkable success, with over 30 participating estates collecting more than 1 000 potted citrus plants, out of which over 700 were regrown.

In view of this, HA has extended the full scheme to all PRH estates in Hong Kong since 2014 to further pursue its commitment to waste reduction.  In 2017, a total of over 170 estates participated in the initiative, assembling an impressive collection of more than 7 000 citrus plants.

In recognition of their contribution to reducing waste, HA holds a territory-wide estate citrus replanting competition every year.  Winning estates are awarded a certificate of appreciation as a testament to their achievements.  In order to ensure that the participating estates possess the necessary skills and techniques in the regrowth of citrus plants, the Horticulture Unit will organise a series of talks during the year to share their experience.

 

Citrus Replanting Competition 2018 Highlights

Appreciation Certificate Presentation

Grand Citrus Award – for the biggest tangerine fruit in a single pot

 

Top

香港房屋委員會及房屋署

年桔回收再植計劃

年桔回收再植計劃
年桔回收再植計劃

農曆新年,不少市民喜歡擺放年桔應景,取其「大吉大利」之意。可是春節一過,年桔大多被丟棄。香港房屋委員會(房委會)為鼓勵居民支持「屋邨家居減廢」,於2013年率先推出「年桔回收再植試驗計劃」,回收住戶在農曆新年後棄置的年桔。試驗計劃反應熱烈,參與計劃的30多個屋邨回收逾千盆年桔,其中重新再植的有700多盆,成績斐然。

有見及此,房委會再下一城,自2014年起把計劃全面推廣至全港所有公共租住屋邨。在2017年,參與減廢計劃的屋邨共有170多個,收集的年桔逾7 000盆。

為表揚屋邨在減廢方面的貢獻,房委會每年舉辦全港屋邨年桔循環種植比賽,見證各屋邨豐碩的成果,並向獲獎屋邨頒發嘉許狀,以茲鼓勵。為使參與屋邨掌握再植年桔的竅門及日常栽種技巧,園藝小組在年內會舉辦一系列講座,與出席者分享種植年桔的心得。

頁首