Hong Kong Housing Authority and Housing Department

Number of Applications and Average Waiting Time for Public Rental Housing

Number of Applications and Average Waiting Time for Public Rental Housing
Picture : Number of Applications and Average Waiting Time for Public Rental Housing

The Housing Authority’s objective is to provide public rental housing (PRH) to low-income families who cannot afford private rental accommodation, with the target of providing the first flat offer to general applicants (i.e. family and elderly one-person applicants) at around three years on average. The average waiting time* target of around three years is not applicable to non-elderly one-person applicants under the Quota and Points System.

As at end-June 2021, the average waiting time for general applicants who were housed to PRH in the past 12 months was 5.8 years. Among them, the average waiting time for elderly one-person applicants was 3.7 years. In the second quarter of 2021, about 3 400 general applicants were housed to PRH, about 500 of which were elderly one-person applicants. The average waiting time for elderly one-person applicants has increased by 0.1 year over the last quarter (i.e. end-March 2021) because some of these applicants who have been housed to PRH had been waiting for a long period of time, their waiting time was thus reflected in the latest average waiting time.

As at end-June 2021, there were about 153 600 general applications for PRH, and about 101 000 non-elderly one-person applications under the Quota and Points System.

*Waiting time basically refers to the time taken between registration for PRH and first flat offer, excluding any frozen period during the application period (e.g. when the applicant has not yet fulfilled the residence requirement; the applicant has requested to put his/her application on hold pending arrival of family members for family reunion; the applicant is imprisoned, etc).

 

Waiting time distribution of general applicants housed to public rental housing

In view of the public's concern about the waiting time of general applicants for PRH, the Housing Department conducts a special analysis on the housing situation of general applicants for PRH every year, including the waiting time distribution of general applicants housed to PRH in the past year.  Please click the link below for the waiting time distribution of general applicants housed to PRH in the most recent analysis:

The above information only shows the waiting time distribution of general applicants housed to PRH between July 2019 and June 2020.  Past trends are not indicative of the future.  The information only serves as a general reference and should not be used as the basis for projecting the waiting time of individual applicants.

Top

香港房屋委員會及房屋署

公屋申請數目和平均輪候時間

公屋申請數目和平均輪候時間
圖片 : 公屋申請數目和平均輪候時間

房屋委員會的宗旨,是為沒有能力租住私人樓宇的低收入家庭提供公屋,並以一般申請者(即家庭和長者一人申請者)平均約三年獲首次編配單位為目標。平均輪候時間*為約三年的目標,並不適用於配額及計分制下的非長者一人申請者。

截至2021年6月底,在過去12個月獲安置入住公屋的一般申請者的平均輪候時間為5.8年,當中長者一人申請者的平均輪候時間為3.7年。在2021年第二季獲編配入住公屋的一般申請約3 400宗,當中獲編配的長者一人申請約500宗。長者一人申請者的平均輪候時間較上一季(即2021年3月底)上升了0.1年,是由於當中有部分獲得編配的申請者輪候已久,他們的輪候時間因而反映在最新的平均輪候時間中。

在2021年6月底,約有153 600宗一般公屋申請,以及約101 000宗配額及計分制下的非長者一人申請。

 

*輪候時間基本上是以公屋申請登記日期開始計算,直至首次配屋為止,但不包括申請期內的任何凍結時段(例如申請者尚未符合居港年期規定;申請者正等待家庭成員來港團聚而要求暫緩申請;申請者在獄中服刑等)。

 

獲安置入住公屋的一般申請者輪候時間分布

因應公眾對一般公屋申請者輪候時間的關注,房屋署每年會對一般公屋申請者的安置情況進行特別分析,當中包括在過去一年獲安置入住公屋的一般申請者輪候時間分布。請按以下連結瀏覽在最近一次的分析中,獲安置入住公屋的一般申請者輪候時間分布: 

上述資料僅顯示在2019年7月至2020年6月期間獲安置入住公屋的一般申請者的輪候時間分布,過往的趨勢並不代表將來的情況。有關資料只用作一般參考用途,不應視為個別申請者用以估算其輪候時間的依據。

頁首