Hong Kong Housing Authority and Housing Department

Housing Subsidy Policy & Policy on Safeguarding Rational Allocation of Public Housing Resources
("Well-off Tenants Policies")

Housing Subsidy Policy & Policy on Safeguarding Rational Allocation of Public Housing Resources
("Well-off Tenants Policies")

In light of the increasing demand for public rental housing (PRH), the Subsidised Housing Committee (SHC) considers that while making the best efforts to increase PRH supply, we should at the same time examine ways to better utilise PRH resources to ensure that efforts would be focused towards allocating PRH resources to those with more pressing housing needs.

SHC endorsed revisions to the “Well-off Tenants Policies” at its meeting of 9 December 2016 and subsequently endorsed the implementation details of the policies at its meeting of 14 February 2017.  The revised “Well-off Tenants Policies” have been in place since the declaration cycle in October 2017.

Basic Principles
  • PRH households whose family income exceeds 5 times the prevailing PRH income limits (PRHILs) or whose total household net asset value exceed 100 times the prevailing PRHILs should vacate their PRH flats.
  • PRH households who have domestic property ownership in Hong Kong should vacate their PRH flats, irrespective of their levels of income or assets.
  • For households who do not have domestic property ownership in Hong Kong and whose household income and net asset value do not exceed the prescribed levels of income and net asset value, they may continue to live in their flats; if their household income exceeds 2 times and not more than 3 times the prevailing PRHILs, they will be required to pay 1.5 times net rent plus rates; if their household income exceeds 3 times and not more than 5 times the prevailing PRHILs, they will be required to pay double net rent plus rates. Households that are required to vacate their PRH flats but have a temporary housing need may apply for a fixed-term licence to stay in PRH for a period of not more than 12 months, during which a licence fee equivalent to the double net rent plus rates or market rent, whichever is higher, is charged. (Please click here for the relevant income and net asset limits)
Households Exempted from the “Well-off Tenants Policies”
  1. All members aged 60 or above
  2. All members receiving Comprehensive Social Security Assistance
  3. All members eligible for/ receiving Social Welfare Department’s Disability Allowance
  4. All members in different combinations of i, ii and/ or iii above
  5. On shared tenancies
Declaration Arrangements

Households who have been living in PRH for ten years are required to make a declaration biennially. In addition, households who are granted a new tenancy under the Policy on Grant of New Tenancy and households with their applications under the Tenancy Management Policies for PRH approved are also required to make a declaration biennially pursuant to the "Well-off Tenants Policies", irrespective of their length of residence.

  • Households will first declare whether they have domestic property ownership in Hong Kong. If affirmative, they do not need to fill in their income details or declare their asset level.
  • Households who do not have domestic property ownership in Hong Kong will be required to fill in their family income details and declare whether or not their total household net asset value exceeds 100 times the prevailing PRHILs. (No supporting documents are required at this stage.)
  • Households who refuse to declare whether they have domestic property ownership in Hong Kong/ fill in the details about their family income and/ or declare whether or not their assets level exceeds 100 times the prevailing PRHILs will need to vacate their flats.

Households with less than 10 years’ residence in PRH are not required to declare their income and assets. However, if the Housing Department (HD) finds that they have domestic property ownership in Hong Kong upon receipt of complaints, they will be required to vacate their PRH flats irrespective of their length of residence.

Definition of Domestic Property Ownership in Hong Kong

Ownership of Domestic Property in Hong Kong means the tenant/ licensee and/ or his/ her household member(s):

  • own(s) or co-own(s) or has/ have an interest in any domestic property in Hong Kong (including but not limited to trustee, executor, administrator or beneficiary having an interest in any domestic property in Hong Kong); or
  • has/ have entered into any agreement (including provisional agreement) to purchase any domestic property in Hong Kong; or
  • hold(s) (including holding individually and/ or together with any other household member(s) in the aggregate) more than 50% of shares in a company which owns, directly or through its subsidiaries, any domestic property in Hong Kong.

Domestic property includes any domestic property, uncompleted private domestic property, rooftop structure approved by the Building Authority, domestic building lots and Small House Grants approved by the Lands Department in Hong Kong.

Income to be Declared
  • Employment income (pre-tax)(including income from household members working overseas)
  • Allowances from employers
  • Self-employment income and business income
  • Income from the average monthly interest, bonus and dividends, etc. from fixed deposits, insurance and investments
  • Income from lands/ landed properties, etc.
  • Income from commercial vehicles
  • Monthly pension
  • Any other income
Assets Covered in the Calculation of Total Asset Value
  • Deposits, cash and loans to others
  • Investments
  • Business undertakings
  • Vehicles
  • Taxi/ Public Light Bus Licences (including vehicles)
  • Landed properties (such as commercial and industrial properties, carparking spaces, etc.)
  • Lands
Deductible Items in the Calculation of Total Asset Value

(The values of these items will continue to be deductible in full in subsequent declaration cycles.)

  • Lump-sum compensation for loss of earning power due to injuries sustained at work or in traffic and other accidents;
  • Lump-sum retirement benefits received under mandatory provident fund schemes, occupational retirement schemes and civil service pension scheme;
  • Lump-sum insurance claims, statutory/ non-statutory compensations and special financial assistance received due to death of household members in the tenancy and claims under critical illness insurance policies received by household members in the tenancy.
Enquiry

General information on the “Well-off Tenants Policies” can be obtained from this webpage and the HA Hotline (2712 2712).  For details, please contact the local Estate Offices/Estate Management Offices/ District Tenancy Management Offices, or call Public Housing Resources Management Sub-section at 3547 0881 during office hours (Monday - Friday, 9am - 6pm).

Frequently Asked Questions
Top

香港房屋委员会及房屋署

公屋住户资助政策及维护公屋资源的合理分配政策
(「富户政策」)

公屋住户资助政策及维护公屋资源的合理分配政策
(「富户政策」)

面对持续上升的公共租住房屋(下称「公屋」)需求,资助房屋小组委员会(下称「小组委员会」)认为在努力增加公屋供应的同时,有必要同步检视如何更好地运用公屋资源,确保公屋资源更聚焦地分配给较有迫切住屋需要的人士。

小组委员会于2016年12月9日的会议上通过修订「富户政策」,并在2017年2月14日的会议上进一步通过了相关执行细节。经修订的「富户政策」已经于2017年10月的申报周期开始实施。

基本原则
  • 若公屋住户的家庭入息超逾现行公屋入息限额五倍,或家庭总资产净值超逾现行公屋入息限额100倍,便须迁离其公屋单位。
  • 在香港拥有住宅物业的公屋住户,不论其家庭入息或资产水平为何,均须迁离其公屋单位。
  • 在香港并无拥有住宅物业,而家庭入息和资产净值未超出指定的入息及资产净值水平的住户,可继续居于其单位。但家庭入息超逾现行公屋入息限额两倍但不高于三倍的住户,须缴交倍半净租金另加差饷;家庭入息超逾现行公屋入息限额三倍但不高于五倍的住户,则须缴交双倍净租金另加差饷。须迁出公屋单位而有暂时住屋需要的住户,可申请暂准居住证居住于该单位,为期不得超逾12个月。在暂居期间,须缴交相等于双倍净租金另加差饷或市值租金的暂准证费,以较高者为准。(相关入息及资产净值限额请按此处)
获豁免于「富户政策」的住户
  1. 所有成员均年满60岁或以上
  2. 所有成员均領取综援
  3. 所有成员均合资格申领/正在领取社会福利署发放的伤残津贴
  4. 所有成员是由上述 i 、 ii 及/ 或iii类以不同组合组成
  5. 持合租租约共住一单位
申报安排

在公屋居住满十年的住户,须每两年进行一次申报。此外,透过「批出新租约政策」获批新租约的住户和透过「公屋租约事务管理政策」获批相关申请的住户,不论其居住年期,亦须每两年按「富户政策」作出申报。

  • 住户首先申报是否在香港拥有住宅物业。若申报在香港拥有住宅物业,则无须填写家庭入息资料及申报家庭资产水平。
  • 如在香港并无拥住宅物业,住户便须填报其家庭入息资料;以及申报其家庭总资产净值有否超逾现行公屋入息限额的100倍(但暂时无须提交证明文件)。
  • 若住户拒绝申报是否在香港拥有住宅物业/ 填报家庭入息及/ 或申报其家庭资产水平有否超逾现行公屋入息限额的100倍,便须迁离其公屋单位。

未住满十年的住户无须申报,但房屋署若接获举报并证实他们在香港拥有住宅物业,则不论其居住年期,仍须迁离其公屋单位。

在香港拥有住宅物业的定义

「在香港拥有住宅物业」指户主/持证人及/或其家庭成员在香港:

  • 拥有或与他人共同拥有香港任何住宅物业或该类物业的权益(包括但不限于拥有香港任何住宅物业权益的产业信托人、遗嘱执行人、管理人或受益人);或
  • 已签订任何协议(包括临时协议)购买香港的住宅物业;或
  • 持有(包括个人及/或与任何其他家庭成员合共持有)任何直接或透过附属公司拥有香港住宅物业的公司50%以上的股权。

住宅物业包括在香港的任何住宅楼宇、未落成的私人住宅楼宇、经建筑事务监督认可的天台构筑物、用作居住用途的屋地及由地政总署批出的小型屋宇批地(包括丁屋批地)。

须填报的入息项目
  • 受雇收入(税前)(包括在海外工作的家庭成员的收入)
  • 雇主提供的津贴
  • 自雇收入及经营业务收入
  • 定期存款、保险及各项投资所得的每月平均利息、红利及股息等收入
  • 土地/ 物业等的收入
  • 商用车辆收入
  • 按月收取的退休金
  • 其他任何收入
须计算于资产总值内的资产项目
  • 存款、现金及借出的贷款
  • 投资
  • 经营业务
  • 车辆
  • 的士/ 公共小型巴士牌照 (连车辆)
  • 物业(例如:商业、工业用途物业、停车位等)
  • 土地
可于计算资产总值时获扣除的项目

(于日后的申报周期继续获全数扣除)

  • 因工作、交通及其他意外受伤,引致丧失工作能力而获取的一笔过赔偿金;
  • 于强积金计划、职业退休保障计划、公务员长俸下收取的一笔过退休金;
  • 因户籍内的家庭成员离世而收取的一笔过保险赔偿金、法定/ 非法定赔偿金及其他特别的财政援助,以及户籍内的家庭成员所收取的危疾保险赔偿金。
查询

本网页及房委会热线(2712 2712)提供政策的一般数据。如欲查询详情,请联络所属屋邨办事处/ 屋邨管理处/ 分区租约事务管理办事处,或于办公时间内(星期一至五上午9时正至下午6时正)致电善用公屋资源分组热线3547 0881。

常见问题
页首